Muffins are such a versatile food.  They make for a satisfying breakfast or filling snack or even a light dessert.

I have been meaning to make  muffins for a few weeks now. At first I was missing a muffin pan and then I was extremely indecisive about what kind of muffin I wanted.  I have strict criteria when I bake  and my roommate finds this very amusing.  I wanted something relatively healthy that I could eat with my morning coffee.  But because I’m also the only one eating them, they also have to function as a filling snack so that I finish them all before the end of the year. These muffins are delicious and hardly taste as healthy as they are. I didn’t use eggs because I didn’t have any on hand, and figured the flax seed would suffice as a binder. The original recipe calls for two eggs, which would make for moister muffins. I think they’re great the way I made them but include eggs if you have them!

Even though the list of ingredients seems extremely long, most of these are staples you will probably have on hand. This recipe definitely helped me clean out my pantry!

Everything Muffins

Adapted from allrecipes.com

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seed
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal **
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup soy milk
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup non-fat vanilla yogurt
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded carrots

**I used quick oats, but you can use any type of oats or oatmeal.

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine first through ninth ingredient.
  3. In a separate smaller bowl, mix soy milk, apple sauce, vanilla, and yogurt.
  4. Mix dry and wet ingredients together and fold in shredded carrots.
  5. Prepare a muffin pan with paper cups. Fill 2/3 of the way with the batter.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins.

Calories: 123.7 Total Fat: 2.0 g Cholesterol: 0.0 mg Sodium: 290.1 mg Total Carbs: 24.7 g Dietary Fiber: 3.1 g Protein: 3.2 g

Talk about healthy!

Nutritional estimations using sparkpeople.com:

